Big Bang Theory is a Seinfeld Copycat

Published November 28, 2011 by 1wordbeautiful

I love Big Bang Theory but I can’t help but notice how similar the characters and situations are.

Both comedies are centered in an apartment.

In Seinfeld they go out to the Dinner to eat.

In Big Bang Theory the go to the Cheesecake Factor where Penny works.

They are usually gathered around a sofa.

Leonard and George look exactly the same and have a weakness for women.

George:

Leonard:

George:

Leonard:

Another comparison is between Big Bang’s Sheldon and Seinfeld’s Kramer.  Both tall, goofy looking, and add the ridiculous factor to their respective shows.

Kramer:

Here’s some crazy Kramer:

Now, I present to you Sheldon doing the cha cha cha (notice the similar attire to Kramer^^^)

Bazinga Sheldon:

Bazinga.

Allow me to expand on Sheldon, because he is my favorite and according to tumblr he is the main reason viewers love the show.  Observe:

Nervous Sheldon:

Dancing Sheldon:

Sad Sheldon:

Loving Sheldon:

Loser Sheldon:

“Romantic” Sheldon:

Clueless Sheldon:

Insane Sheldon:

Cat-lover Sheldon:

Scared Sheldon:

Anti-social Sheldon:

Know-it-all Sheldon:

Germaphobe Sheldon:

Lysol Sheldon:

It would make sense for cleaning product companies to advertise on this show, since Sheldon is so OCD-germaphobic.

Anyways, here is smirking Sheldon:

Another thing that would sell is Chinese food.   They are always eating Chinese take out on their sofa while watching tv.  Always makes me want to call up Peter’s Kitchen from down the street.   Ugh.

On to other characters.  Elaine and Penny, the not-so-poised women that contribute to the reaction humor aspect of their shows.  They react to the men’s quirky weird personalities.

Elaine:

Penny:

Big Bang Theory also added the Indian comedy aspect.  Here is “Very-very bad-man!” guy from Seinfeld.

This is Rash from BBT:

Last but not least, BBT has a Seinfeld look alike.  His name is Howard, he’s Jewish just like Jerry therefore, the Jewish jokes are yet another copied comedic aspect.

Jerry:

And here is Howard:

Howards yelling mom (never shown) is also very similar to George’s loud mouth mom. Yet again another copy.

Before I finish this post tho I’d like to ad some cool fan art I found on tumblr.

Well idk if this is fan art or not but its really cool.  I bet the characters from BBT would like to cos-play starwars.

Anyway, this is BBT animated. Idk who the guy with the mic is O.o   Anyway i love the japanese manga style drawing.  I need to practice my drawing skills so I can be this good.

Here’s animated Seinfeld, characature style.  It’s not manga, but I still like it.

Phew! This post took forever to finish.  I hope you nonexistent followers like it.

–Love, Ale.

15 comments on “Big Bang Theory is a Seinfeld Copycat

  • So many pics. Yay. I like the cartoon pics also. YOu are right. Just another show coping an old one. No class. lol. Dancing Sheldon is so f…. hilarious.

    • You watch The Big Bang Theory too!!! Awesome. I think the “copy” is good though. It was just fun fun me to point out the similarities. On tumblr there was a post I saw the same gif of Sheldon dancing and it was put to music. It was so funny! I couldn’t find that post so I couldn’t re-post it here. Btw I’d like to say that I don’t take credit for making the gifs. I use the photos/gifs to help me express my point and make my blog more entertaining.

  • I think you’re right, but I think some of your comparisons are wrong. Most sitcoms are set in an apartment, restaurant, and place of work. That the nature of ‘situation comedy’ right?

    Also, Leonard is definitely not George Costanza. Leonard is sexually successful. George is a paranoid, oversexed, short Jewish man, with a strained relationship with his mother. The likeness to Wolowitz is much closer.

    Anyway, I’m glad you think that TBBT (which I do really like) is ripping off Seinfeld (which I love and is an all-time classic).

    You’re also hot 🙂

  • P.S: Forgot to say, the reason I’m that you think TBBT is ripping off Seinfled is because I started to notice a lot similarities a while back and that’s how I came across this blog.

    P.P.S: The Seinfeld Star Wars artwork is wicked!

  • P.P.P.S: The amount of typos in those 2 comments make me look like an illiterate moron. I’m actually not (much), it’s just late here in the UK! 🙂

    • Haha! No way! You wrote perfectly clear. I like how you critique. Honestly, I used to think I was pretty good at writing before I started reading and writing posts here on WordPress. For the most part people on here are so judgmental I was thinking of deleting this blog and posting else where. Thats why it took me so long to respond. I don’t plan on continuing this blog.

  • Leave a comment